- ACP Journal Club
Produced by the American College of Physicians since 1991,
it screens the top clinical journals to identify studies
that are both methodologically sound and clinically relevant.
The result is an enhanced abstract of the chosen article
and a commentary on its value for clinical practice. For
further details, see Ovid's Field
- ACP PIER
This compendium of clinical evidence is useful for medical problems and drug information.
- ADA Database of Systematic Reviews
Indexed by specialty and topic, it links to PubMed for published SRs and to critical reviews when available.
For access to the full text of the SRs, run PubMed@Tufts in another browser window and click the Tufts Electronic button on its Abstract display.
Produced by BMJ Publishing Group, it summarises the current
state of knowledge and uncertainty about the prevention
and treatment of common or important clinical conditions,
based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature.
It describes the best available evidence from systematic
reviews, RCTs and observational studies where appropriate.
If there is no good evidence it says so. See its Oral Health section.
- Cochrane Central Register
of Controlled Clinical Trials (CCTR)
A bibliography of controlled trials identified by the Cochrane
Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort
to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased
source of data for systematic reviews. It includes reports
published in conference proceedings and in many other sources
not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases.
For further details, see Ovid's Field
- Cochrane Database of Systematic
Its full-text articles reviewing the effects of healthcare
are highly structured and systematic. To minimize bias evidence
is included or excluded on the basis of explicit criteria.
Data are often combined statistically (with meta-analysis)
to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies,
each too small to produce reliable results individually.
For further details, see Ovid's Field
Oral Health Group aims to produce systematic reviews,
which primarily include all randomized control trials
(RCTs) of oral health. Oral health is broadly conceived
to include the prevention, treatment and rehabilitation
of oral, dental and craniofacial diseases and disorders.
See the Group's Scope for complete details.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews
of Effects (DARE)
Includes structured abstracts of systematic reviews from
around the world, which have been critically appraised by
reviewers at the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
at the University of York, England. DARE also contains references
to other reviews which may be useful for background information.
For further details, see Ovid's Field
Updated daily, it monitors the content of over 500 journals and systematic-review databases. Several of its summaries address dental topics.
Developed by the Forsyth Institute's Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry in collaboration with SumSearch, this PubMed interface facilitates searching in the PICO format, limiting to systematic reviews, and limiting by specialty, age or question domain (e.g. diagnosis, treatment, etc.). For access to the full text of articles licensed by Tufts, be sure to first login to PubMed@Tufts or paste the article's PMID into its search box in order to see whether our blue icons appear in PubMed's Abstract Display.
- Tufts E-Resources Finder: Dentistry & Evidence-Based Medicine
Ovid's EBM Limits
- EBM Reviews
- Use this limit to narrow a large search to only those
articles that are considered "evidence-based"
- Restricts retrieval to:
- Topic reviews from the Cochrane Database of Systematic
Reviews. Click Ovid Full Text.
- Articles or studies that have been included by
the Cochrane Collaboration when creating a Topic
Review. Click Ovid Full Text to read
the article or study; click Topic Review to read the Cochrane Systematic Review.
- Articles that have been reviewed in the ACP Journal
Club or in the Database of Abstracts of Reviews
of Effectiveness (DARE). Click Ovid Full Text to read the article or study; click Article
Review to read the full text.
- Limits to these databases may be applied separately
or in combinations on the Limit screen.
- Systematic Reviews
- A systematic review is a
summary of the dental and medical literature that uses
explicit methods to perform a thorough literature search
and critical appraisal of individual studies and that
uses appropriate statistical techniques to combine these
valid studies. Systematic reviews are not all equal,
and quality issues are important. (Bandolier glossary)
- This limit on the More Limits, borrowed
from PubMed, retrieves citations identified as systematic
reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials,
evidence-based medicine, consensus-development conferences,
guidelines, and citations to articles from journals
specializing in review studies of value to clinicians.
- For details see the NLM search strategy.
- Clinical Queries
- This set of limits, adapted from PubMed's, is found
on the Limit screen.
- These search filters retrieve with sensitivity (the broadest net), specificity (the narrowest),
or optimized strategies.
- For details, see Ovid's translation of Brian
Ovid & PubMed's Publication Types
Work consisting of studies using a quantitative method of
combining the results of independent studies (usually drawn
from the published literature) and synthesizing summaries
and conclusions which may be used to evaluate therapeutic
effectiveness, plan new studies, etc. It is often an overview
of clinical trials. It is usually called a meta-analysis
by the author or sponsoring body and should be differentiated
from reviews of literature.
- Randomized Controlled Trial
Work consisting of a clinical trial that involves at least
one test treatment and one control treatment, concurrent
enrollment and follow-up of the test- and control-treated
groups, and in which the treatments to be administered are
selected by a random process, such as the use of a random-numbers
table. Treatment allocations using coin flips, odd-even
numbers, patient social security numbers, days of the week,
medical record numbers, or other such pseudo- or quasi-random
processes, are not truly randomized and a trial employing
any of these techniques for patient assignment is designated
simply a Controlled Clinical Trial.
- Practice Guideline
Work consisting of a set of directions or principles to
assist the health care practitioner with patient care decisions
about appropriate diagnostic, therapeutic, or other clinical
procedures for specific clinical circumstances. Practice
guidelines may be developed by government agencies at any
level, institutions, organizations such as professional
societies or governing boards, or by the convening of expert
panels. They can provide a foundation for assessing and
evaluating the quality and effectiveness of health care
in terms of measuring improved health, reduction of variation
in services or procedures performed, and reduction of variation
in outcomes of health care delivered.
- Other Publication Types
For a complete list of definitions, see the National
Library of Medicine's Publication
Types: Scope Notes.
- Evidence-based dentistry for effective practice
5th Floor Stacks WU 100 E93 2003
- International conference on evidence-based practice
5th Floor Stacks WU 100 I61p 2003
- Tufts E-Resouce Finder: Evidence Based-Medicine
Lists books and databases with proxied links for Tufts users.