|
|
| Environmental & Occupational Health |
|
|
| Call Number Ranges |
| Carcinogens |
QZ 202 |
| Environmental Health |
WA 30 |
| Occupational Diseases |
WA 400 |
| Toxicology |
QV 600 |
Starting Points:
- A civil action
5th Floor WA 788H
Relates the dramatic litigation of the Woburn case and gives
excellent sources.
- Dictionary of Ecology
- Essentials of environmental health
Circ Desk WA 30 F75
- Handbook of pediataric environmental health
Reference WA 39 A5112h
Presents the recommendations of the American Academy of
Pediatrics.
- Medical toxicology
Reference QV 600 F981
Covers the diagnosis and treatment of poisoning from various
drugs, chemicals, and natural toxins, with a good index
of symptoms et al.
- Occupational and environmental health : recognizing and preventing disease and injury
Reserve WA 440 O149
- Occupational medicine
Reserve WA 400 O15
Lists in its appendices threshold limit values, chemicals
evaluated for carcinogenicity and occupations associated
with dermatoses.
- Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology
- Standard methods for the examination of water &
wastewater
Reference WA 686 S785
American Public Health Association
Covers pollution from microbes, radioactivity, metals and
other toxic agents.
- Woburn
childhood leukemia follow-up study
Circ Desk WA 788 M414w
Massachusetts Department of Public Health analyzes the evidence for attributing increased risk to
trichlorethylene-contaminated water.
Databases
- BNA Environment and Safety Library
Provides the full text of federal, state, and international environment and safety laws and regulations, as well as legal decisions made by federal, state, and administrative courts; and interactive forms, guidance documents, directories, agency memoranda, and international treaties and agreements.
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
- Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management is a multidisciplinary database, providing abstracts and citations drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
- Canary Database
Contains studies in the biomedical literature that explore the use of wildlife, domestic, and companion animals as "sentinels" for the effects of chemical, biological, and physical hazards in the environment that may be a risk to human health.
- MEDLINE
Suggested Medical Subject Headings (MeSH): agriculture; environment, enviromental pollutants, industry, occupational diseases, pesticides.
Suggested Subheadings: adverse effects (ae); chemically induced (ci); injuries (in), poisoning (po).
- TOXNET
National Library of Medicine
Access to the Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, Hazardous Substances DataBank,TOXLINE and the National Library of Medicine's other toxicological files.
- Household Products Database
National Library of Medicine
Links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
Journals
Starting Points:
Websites
|
|