|
|
| Statistics |
|
|
Major Sources
- American
FactFinder
U.S. Bureau of the Census
Contains population, housing, economic and geographic data from Census 2000,
the 1990 Census, the 1997 Economic Census, the Census 2000 Supplementary
Survey, and the American Community Survey.
- Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention (CDC)
The principal agency in the United States government for protecting the health and safety of all Americans and for providing essential human services, especially for those people who are least able to help themselves.
-
Facts for You: Healthy People
U.S. Office of Citizen Services and Communications
Contains shortcuts to statistical information on the following topics: aging, cancer mortality, birth rate and child mortality, nursing homes and occupational health.
- FASTATS
A-Z
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
- Health, United
States
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
An annual report on trends in health statistics. Presents national trends in health statistics on such topics
as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy,
morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory
care and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing
of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other
health topics.
- Healthy People
2010
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Unites States' comprehensive, nationwide health promotion and disease prevention
agenda. Links to Focus Areas and statical data are provided.
- MEASURE DHS (Demographic and Health Surveys)
Funded by U.S. Agency for International Development’s (USAID) Bureau for Global Health (BGH)
Produces a wide variety of publications that provide country specific and comparative data on population, health, and nutrition in developing countries.
- Morbidity and Mortality
Weekly Report: MMWR
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and
territorial health departments and reports on infectious and
chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated
disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional
and unintentional injuries.
- National Center for Health
Statistics (NCHS)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The principal health statistics agency for the Unted States. NCHS compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies.
- National Hospital Discharge and Ambulatory Surgery Data
Conducted annually since 1965, the survey provides information on characteristics of inpatients discharged from non-Federal short-stay
hospitals in the US. For print holdings of annual summaries published in the National Center for Health Statistics' Vital & Health Statistics
Series, search the Tufts Catalog.
- National Longitudinal Surveys
U.S. Department of Labor - Bureau of Labor Statistics
Set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women.
- National Vital
and Health Statistics series
National Center for Health Statisitcs (NCHS)
Each series presents data analyses for a data collection system or a family
of related systems. Some series include annual issues, other reports are
focused on special analysis, others offer summaries of annual surveys.
- Statistical Abstract
of the United States
U.S. Bureau of the Census
Statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States.
- U.S.
Bureau of the Census
- World Health Organization
(WHO)
- World
Development Indicators [Requires Tufts UTLN]]
World Bank
Statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data
for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic,
financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators
Statistics Search Tools
- FEDSTATS
Search engine for official statistical information available
to the public from the Federal Government.
- LexisNexis [Requires Tufts UTLN]
Select the "Statistical" link under "Related Links" on the right side of the screen.
Tufts
Resources
Journals
Statistics
Databases
Books
| HHSL call number range |
WA 950 |
- Finding statistics online : how to locate the elusive
numbers you need
5th floor HA 33.5 B511f 1998
- Health and numbers : basic biostatistical methods
Reserve WA 950 L433h 1995
- Health, United States 2003
Reference W 2 a N1479hc 2003
- How to analyze survey data
Reserve HN 29 S971 1995
- How to report statistics in medicine : annotated
guidelines for authors, editors, and reviewers
Reference WA 950 L269h 1997
- Introductory biostatistics for the health sciences
: modern applications including bootstrap
5th floor WA 950 C521 2003
- Medical statistics : a commonsense approach
Reserve WA 950 C189m 1999
- Nonparametric statistics for health care research
: statistics for small samples and unusual distributions
5th floor WA 950 P499n 1997
- Portrait of health in the U.S.: major statistical trends & guide to resources
Reference WA 900 AA1 P853
- Primer of biostatistics
5th floor WA 950 G545p 1997
- Qualitative methods in public health : a field guide
for applied research
5th floor WA 20.5 U39q 2005
- Randomization in clinical trials : theory and practice
5th floor WB 16 R813r 2002
- Studying a study and testing a test : how to read
the medical evidence
Info WA 950 R554s 2005
- Vital and health statistics series
Reference W 2 A N148V 1991
|
|