Tufts University Hirsh Health Sciences Library logo  
banner image
Tufts CatalogDatabasesE-BooksE-JournalsOvid MEDLINEPubMedTUSK
SEARCH THIS SITE
QUICK LINKS
SERVICES
RESOURCES
Getting Started
Catalogs & Libraries
Databases
E-Books
E-Journals
New Acquisitions
Recommend a Purchase
Report a Missing Book or Journal
Research Guides
by Subject
COMPUTING
ABOUT THE LIBRARY
EDUCATION
TUFTS WEBSITES
 
Printer-friendly version
Nutrition
in this guide:
Tufts Resources
Associations/Boards
Children
Databases
Diet & Food
Dietary Supplements
Government
News
Photography
Tufts Resources

Books

QU Nutrition
WD 100 Nutrition Disorders

E-Books

Associations/Boards

Children

  • kidsnutrition.org
    USDA/Agricultural Research Service's Children's Nutrition Research Center at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas
    Dedicated to defining the nutrient needs of children, and the needs of pregnant women and nursing mothers.
  • Healthy Meals Resource System
    National Agricultural Library
  • MEDLINEplus - Child Nutrition
    National Library of Medicine resource primarily aimed at consumers.
  • Pediatric and Pregnancy Nutrition Surveillance System
    National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention & Health Promotion, CDC
    • PedNSS: Provides a framework for tabulating and interpreting state-specific information on the nutritional characteristics of low-income children.
    • PNSS: Provides a framework for tabulating and analyzing state-specific
      information on the nutritional status and behavioral risk factors of pregnant women and their association to birth outcome.
  • USFDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
    Resources for kids, teens, and educators.
Databases
  • Nutrition databases licensed by Tufts
  • Agricola
    National Agricultural Library
    Covers the world's literature in agricultural research published in books, technical reports, and over 1,400 journals from 1979.
  • AltMedDex
    Comprehensive referenced data on herbal medicines and dietary supplements covering uses, efficacy, dosing, toxicity, and more.
  • BIOSIS Previews
    Comprehensive life sciences database, incorporating Biological Abstracts.
  • CAB Abstracts
    Literature in agriculture, nutrition, animal health and natural resources.
  • EcoSal
    Comprehensive archive of the entire corpus of knowledge on the enteric bacterial cell.
  • International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)
    Office of Dietary Supplements, NIH
    Database of published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text resource includes articles from major American newspapers, regional papers, newsletters, and journals; country and state profiles; medical and health topics; federal case law, the U.S. Code, law reviews, and state legal research.
  • MEDLINE
    International biomedical journal literature includes over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
    • Access via Ovid
    • Access via PubMed (use this link with your Tufts UTLN for e-journals licensed to the Tufts community)
      Full-text coverage of Tufts-owned journals is available via the blue Tufts icon on its Citation and Abstract displays. To limit to articles available free in PubMed Central, select it from the Subsets menu under Limits. Other full-text access is available via some publisher icons.
  • Science Citation Index
    Contains bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. Can be searched by: subject, author, journal, author address and/or articles that cite a known author or work.
  • USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference (SR)
    Nutrient Data Laboratory
    The major source of food composition data in the U.S. and provides the foundation for most food composition databases in the public and private sectors. Contains data on 6,220 food items and up to 117 food components. The database is downloadable via the USDA web site; files required to search the databases are also available for download.

Diet & Food

Dietary Supplements

  • ConsumerLab
    Comprehensive information about vitamin, herbal and other supplements, and nutritional products for both humans and pets. Includes independent product evaluations, lists of quality-approved brands, product recalls, and safety warnings.
  • Dietary Supplements
    Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition, FDA
    Overview, general information and FAQ, regulations, safety information and more.
  • Dietary Supplements Label Database
    NLM
    • Information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands
    • Comparison of ingredients in different brands
    • Information on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers
  • Herbal Supplements
    • Herbal Medicine
      MEDLINEPlus Health Information, NLM/NIH
      Links to general information, clinical trials, research and news
    • HerbMed
      Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc.
      Organized by scientific name, links to list of bibliography of evidence studies.
  • International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Database
    Office of Dietary Supplements, NIH
    Access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements. Choose the full IBIDS Database, a subset of Consumer Citations Only or Peer Reviewed Citations Only.
  • Macronutrients, Phytonutrients, Vitamins, and Minerals
    National Agricultural Library

Government Resources

Global U.S.

Portals/Other Resources

  • Arbor Nutrition Guide
    Links to various fields, including food science, agricultural industry, clinical nutrition, dietary management, and phytochemistry.
  • International Food Information Council (IFIC)
    Science-based information on food safety and nutrition for health and nutrition professionals, educators, journalists, government officials and others providing information to consumers.

News

Photographs - Digital Library