|
EndNote and Reference Manager (RefMan)
- What are EndNote and Reference Manager?
EndNote and Reference Manger are software programs that you install on your computer. They allow you to:
- Create libraries of citations that have been directly exported from databases or entered by hand
- Insert citations and format bibliographies in Word or WordPerfect
- How much do EndNote and Reference Manager cost?
Student editions of EndNote and Reference Manager are available from Campus E-Store and cost about $110.
- Advantages/Disadvantages of EndNote and Reference Manager
- Advantages
- Once purchased, they are yours to keep
- Allows you to create and insert captions for tables and other figures
- EndNote references can be entered into your handheld device and then synchronized with your desktop EndNote library. You can also beam individual references to another Palm OS handheld.
- Disadvantages
- Software must be purchased
- Software must be installed on an individual computer
- Where can I learn more about EndNote and Reference Manager?
- Contact the HHSL for more information and to arrange for instruction. The HHSL has produced the following instructions:
- Vistit the EndNote and Reference Manager web sites
RefWorks
- What it RefWorks?
RefWorks is a web-based program that allows you to create an account where you store citations. RefWorks allows you to:
- Create libraries of citations that have been directly exported from databases or entered by hand
- Insert citations and format bibliographies in Word using the "Write-n-Cite" plug-in
While no software needs to be installed to use Refworks, the "Write-n-Cite" plug-in must be installed if you want to insert citations and format bibliographies in Word.
- Advantages
- Available at no charge to Tufts-affiliated users with a valid UTLN/PAssword or Library Login ID
- You can access your RefWorks account wherever there is an Internet connection
- PDF documents can be stored within a RefWorks account
- Disadvantages
- When you are no longer affiliated with Tufts, you must subscribe to RefWorks individually ($100 per year)
- Where can I learn more about them?
- Contact the HHSL for more information about RefWorks and to arrange for instruction. The HHSL has produced the following instructions:
- Visit the RefWorks web site
Zotero
- What it Zotero?
Zotero is a Firefox web browser extension that gathers and organizes sources from the web, such as, journal articles, book citations, web sites and images. Sources can also be enter into Zotero by hand. Zotero allows you to:
- Create libraries of citations and other sources gathered from the web or entered by hand
- Insert citations and format bibliographies in Word or OpenOffice via a plug-in
While no special software needs to be installed, Zotero must downloaded onto your computer via the Firefox web browser (versions 2.0 and higher). A plug-in must also be donwloaded to insert citations and format bibliographies in Word or OpenOffice.
- How much does it cost?
Zotero is freely available on the web. However, Zotero requires that you have the Firefox web browser (versions 2.0 and higher) installed on your computer. Zotero is available on the web at:http://www.zotero.org/
- Advantages/Disadvantages of RefWorks
- Advantages
- Freely available regardless of Tufts-affiliation
- Captures snapshots of web sites
- Disadvantages
- Only works with the Firefox web browser (versions 2.0 and higher)
- Does not work with databases licensed by Tufts
- Limited number of citations styles available
- Where can I learn more about them?
- Contact the HHSL for more information about Zotero
- Visit the Zotero web site
|