|
|
| Home
> Resources > Research
Guides > Evidence-Based
Medicine Resources |
| Evidence-Based Medicine
(EBM) |
|
|
Tufts Resources
Agencies & Centers
-
Agency for Healthcare
Research and Quality (AHRQ)
AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). It provides
evidence-based information on quality improvement and
patient safety; outcomes and effectiveness of care;
clinical practice and technology assessment; health
care organization and delivery systems; primary care
(including preventive services); and health care costs
and sources of payment.
-
Canadian
Centres for Health Evidence (CHE)
Presents knowledge-based resources and summaries to
health professionals. CHE provides extensive information
on how to identify the required evidence, how to critically
appraise published literature and understanding statistics.
-
Center for Evidence-Based
Medicine
University of Toronto
Contains materials related to teaching and practising
EBM, including a glossary of EBM terms, resources for
handheld devices, and links to other EBM sites.
-
Centre for Evidence-Based
Medicine
National Health Service (UK)
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine website contains
resources which promote and provide support evidence-based
health care providers, students and patients.
-
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
National Health Service (UK)
The largest group in the world engaged exclusively in evidence synthesis in the health field. The centre undertakes high quality systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health and social care interventions and the delivery and organisation of health care. CRD produces the renowned DARE, NHS EED and HTA databases which are used by health professionals, policy makers and researchers around the world. The centre also undertakes methods research and produces Hitting the Headlines, providing busy health professionals with a rapid and reliable analysis of the evidence behind news reports on health interventions.
-
Cochrane Collaboration
Cochrane Collaboration is an international network of
individuals and
institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and
disseminating systematic reviews of the effects of health
care.
-
Cochrane
Collaboration Complementary Medicine Field
Overview of the mission and activities of the Cochrane
Collaboration Complementary Medicine Field. Includes
links to the Complementary Medicine Field Newsletter,
Complementary Medicine Reviews & Protocols, and
the Registry, a database of randomized control trials
(RCT) and controlled clinical trials (CCT) on Complementary
Medicine topics.
-
Evidence-Based
Practice
U.S.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Links to scientific reviews, evidence reports, evidence-based
practice centers, conferencs and evidence-based methodology.
-
Evidence-based Medicine Resource Center
The New York Academy of Medicine Library/ American College of Physicians, New York Chapter
Contains references, bibliographies, tutorials, glossaries, and on-line databases to guide those embarking on teaching and practicing evidence-based medicine. It offers practice tools to support critical analysis of the literature and MEDLINE searching, as well as links to other sites that help enable evidence-based medical care.
Appraising the
Evidence/Calculators
-
EBM
Online Collections
BMJ Publishing Group Ltd.
Collections of articles featured in the journal EBM
Online. Articles are listed by topical area.
-
EBM
Concepts
Medical University of South Carolina
Contains overviews, questions & answers regarding
major EBM concepts, including: Odds Ratio vs. Relative
Risk, Threshold Decision Making, and Kappa.
-
EBM Toolbox
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
Collection of resources for evidence-based medicine
and clinical decsion making. Tips for searching MEDLINE,
a glossary of EBM terms, and a comparison of research
study designs are included.
-
Online
Clinical Calculator
Medical College of Wisconsin
Online Bayesian Calculator for calculating test sensitivity,
specificity, predictive values, and likelihood ratios.
Contains several clinical formulas including: Pregnancy
Due Date, Ingested Substance Blood Level, Estimated
Creatinine Clearance, and Body Surface Area, Body Mass
Index.
Clinical Practice
Guidelines
-
CDC
Recommends:The Prevention Guidelines System
Centers
for Disease Control and Prevention
Up-to-date and archived guidelines and recommendations
approved by the CDC for the prevention and control of
disease, injuries, and disabilities.
-
Clinical
Practice Guidelines
U.S. Agency for Healthcare
Research and Quality
Consists of a series of 19 Clinical Practice Guidelines.
Each guideline has several versions as listed: Clinical
Practice Guidelines, Quick Reference Guides for Clinicians,
and Consumer Versions.
-
CPG
Infobase Clinical Practice Guidelines
Canadian
Medical Association
A database of guidelines produced or endorsed in Canada
by a national, provincial/territorial or regional medical
or health organization, professional society, government
agency or expert panel.
-
Health
Services Technology Assessment Texts - HSTAT
National
Library of Medicine
HSTAT is a free, web-based resource that provides access
to full-text documents useful for providing health information
and for health care decision making. HSTAT provides
access to a wide variety of publications, including:
clinical practice guidelines, quick-reference guides
for clinicians, consumer health brochures, evidence
reports and technology assessments.
- National Guideline
Clearinghouse
U.S. Agency for Healthcare Policy
& Research
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice
guidelines. Guidelines can be browsed by the following
categories: Disease/Condition, Treatment/Intervention,
or Organization. The National Guideline Clearinghouse
is sponsored by the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Policy
& Research, the American Medical Association and
the American Association of Health Plans.
Databases
See EBM Databases, Limits, Publication & Study Types
Directories
-
Evidence-Based
Health Care
HealthWeb, U. of Illinois at Chicago
Directory of online resources for evidence-based health
care. Categories include: Databases, Clinical Guidelines,
Online Publications, Organizations, Online Journals,
Tools and Tutorials, Guides to Searching the Literature.
-
Evidence-Based
Medicine
Welch Medical Library at Johns Hopkins
U.
Collection of evidence-based medicine resources that
have been evaluated and rated for content. Rated resources
include:
- Systematic Reviews, Journal Articles and other Databases
- Clinical Trials and Pre-publication Resources
- Research Tools: Filters, Hedges and Strategies
- Statistical Tools and Calculators
- Journal Clubs, List Servers, and Meta-lists
- Education and Tutorials Organization
- Understanding
and Evaluating Medical Information
New York Online
Access to Health
Information guide to EBM resources on the web, includes
sections such as: the Basics, Types of Evidence, Research
Methods and Statistical Terms in EBM.
EBM Centers by
Speciality
Guides
& Tutorials
-
Bandolier
Knowledge Library
Pain Research at Oxford University
Collection of evidence under a variety of different
health topics. Bandolier searches and abstracts systematic
reviews of treatments, evidence about diagnosis, epidemiology
or health economics.
-
Evidence4u
National Health Service (UK), Manchester
Comprehensive tutorial about how to access, appraise
and apply evidence to everyday practice. It provides
the opportunity to learn the skills and techniques of
evidence based practice by working through a case scenario
from start to finish. Requires a one time registeration
for new users.
-
Evidence
Based Medicine (EBM) Glossary
Centre for Evidence-Based
Medicine (UK)
Glossary of terms frequently used in EBM.
-
EBM Tutorial
Boston University Medical Center - Alumni Medical Library
-
Evidence-Based
Medicine Tutorials
Lamar Soutter Library at Umass
Medical School
Interactive tutorial focusing on the construction of
evidence-based clinical questions in terms of both prognosis
and therapy.
-
Evidence-Based
Medicine: What it is and what it isn't
National
Health Service (UK)
Article discussing the definition of evidence-based
medicine, its application to clincial practice and its
limitations. Bibliographic references are provided.
-
How to
Read a Paper: the basics of evidence based medicine
Trisha Greenhalgh, BMJ Publishing Group
A series of 10 articles that serve to introduce the
non-expert researcher to the
varieties of medical articles and to the assessment
of their values.
-
Introduction
to Evidence-Based Medicine
Duke University/ UNC
- Chapel Hill
"A basic tutorial intended for any health care
practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction
to the principles of Evidence-Based Medicine."
-
McMaster Online Rating of Evidence (MORE)
A system to help define the best research to support evidence-based clinical practice, tailored to the individual interests of clinicians.
-
Netting
the Evidence
U. of Sheffield School of Health &
Related Research
"Netting the Evidence is intended to facilitate
evidence-based healthcare by providing support and access
to helpful organisations and useful learning resources,
such as an evidence-based virtual library, software
and journals."
-
Searching
for the Best Evidence in Clinical Journals
National
Health Service (UK)
Recommendations for maximizing literature searching
efficacy.
-
Users' Guides to Evidence-Based Practice
Canadian
Centre for Health Evidence
Contains the complete set of Users' Guides originally
published as a series in the Journal of the American
Medical Association (JAMA).
Journals
The Hirsh Health Sciences Library has current subscriptions to the following journals. Unless indicated, the following journals require a valid Tufts
ID for access.
PDA Resources
-
Clinical
Practice Guidelines for Handheld Computers
National
Guideline Clearinghouse
PDA versions of slected clinical practice guidelines from
the National Guideline Clearinghouse. Includes guidelines
from the following associations/organizations: American
College of Cardiology, American Heart Association, American
College of Chest Physicians, American College of Physicians-American
Society of Internal Medicine, Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention, and the National Heart, Lung and Blood
Institute.
-
Duke
University Medical Center Library EBM File
Duke University Medical Center Library
Free PDA file of evidence-based medicine resources. Contains
information on EBM terminology, how to construct a well-built
clinical question, and how to evaluate various types of
journal articles. A reference guide on searching Ovid
MEDLINE is also included. Free AvantGo account required.
Operating System: Palm OS, Pocket PC, WinCE
-
EBM
Calculator
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, Toronto
Designed to calculate relevant statistics for Diagnostic
studies, Prospective Studies, Case Control Studies, and
Randomized Control Trials (RCT). Operating System: Palm
OS.
-
MedRules
Developed for educational use, MedRules features useful
clinical prediction rules taken from the medical literature.
Includes rules for Apache II scores, Breast Cancer Risk,
Coronary Disease Risk, Pre-Op Cardiac Risk, Ottawa Knee,
Ankle, and Foot Rules, Family Practice Incidence Rates,
and others. Operating System: Palm OS 3.1 or higher.
- Students'
Guide to the Medical Literature
University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
A how-to guide developed for medical students on appraising
the medical literature. Covers how to frame research questions,
develop search strategies, appraise the results, and implement
findings into clinical practice. Free AvantGo account required.
Operating System: Palm OS, PocketPC, WinCE.
Texts & Textbooks
See also EBM Compendia by Speciality
Diagnosis
-
Clinical Evidence
-
The evidence base of clinical diagnosis
Info Desk WB 141 E93 2002
-
Evidence-based diagnosis : a handbook of clinical
prediction rules
Info Desk WB 39 E15e 2001
Circ Desk WB 39 E15e 2001 CD-ROM
-
Evidence-based physical diagnosis
Info Desk WB 200 M478e 2001
-
Musculoskeletal physical examination : an evidence-based approach
Info Desk WE 141 M9858 2006
Circ Desk WE 141 M9858 2006 CD-ROM
-
The patient history : evidence-based approach
Info Desk WB 290 P298 2005
-
Symptom to diagnosis : an evidence-based guide
Info Desk WB 141 S839s 2006
EBM Concepts
-
Evidence-based clinical practice : concepts and approaches
5th Floor WB 102 E927 2000
-
Evidence-based health economics : from effectiveness
to efficiency
Info Desk W 74 E93 2002
-
Evidence-based medicine : a framework for clinical
practice
5th Floor WB 102 E93 1998
-
Evidence-based medicine : how to practice and teach
EBM
Info Desk WB 102 E933 2000
-
Evidence-based medicine in Sherlock Holmes' footsteps
5th floor WB 39 N832e 2007a
-
Evidence-based medicine workbook
Info Desk WB 18.2 G548 2003
-
Evidence-based to value-based medicine
5th Floor WB 84 B8785e 2005
-
Evidence-based practice : logic and critical thinking
in medicine
5th Floor WB 102 J51e 2005
-
Evidence-based practice : a primer for health care
professionals
5th Floor WB 102 E935 2005
-
Evidence-based medicine toolkit
5th Floor WB 102 H498e 2006
-
Foundations of evidence-based medicine
Info Desk WB 102 J51f 2003
-
How
to read a paper : the basics of evidence based medicine
5th Floor W20.5 .G813h 2001
-
PDQ : evidence-based principles and practice
5th Floor WB 102 M478p 1999
-
Studying a study and testing a test : how to read
the medical evidence
Info Desk WA 950 R554s 2005
- Users' guides to the medical literature : a manual
for evidence-based clinical practice
Info Desk WB 39 U845 2002
|
|