|
|
| Nutrition |
|
|
Tufts
Resources
Books
| QU |
Nutrition |
| WD 100 |
Nutrition Disorders |
E-Books
Associations/Boards
Children
- kidsnutrition.org
USDA/Agricultural Research Service's Children's Nutrition Research Center at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas
Dedicated to defining the nutrient needs of children,
and the needs of pregnant women and nursing mothers.
- Healthy
Meals Resource System
National Agricultural Library
- MEDLINEplus
- Child Nutrition
National Library of Medicine resource primarily aimed
at consumers.
-
Pediatric and Pregnancy Nutrition Surveillance System
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention &
Health Promotion, CDC
- PedNSS: Provides a framework for tabulating and
interpreting state-specific information on the nutritional
characteristics of low-income children.
- PNSS: Provides a framework for tabulating and analyzing
state-specific
information on the nutritional status and behavioral
risk factors of pregnant women and their association
to birth outcome.
- USFDA
Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
Resources for kids, teens, and educators.
Databases- Agricola
National Agricultural Library
Covers the world's literature in agricultural research
published in books, technical reports, and over 1,400
journals from 1979.
- AltMedDex
Comprehensive referenced data on herbal medicines and
dietary supplements covering uses, efficacy, dosing, toxicity,
and more.
- BIOSIS
Previews
Comprehensive life sciences database, incorporating Biological
Abstracts.
- CAB
Abstracts
Literature in agriculture, nutrition, animal health and
natural resources.
- EcoSal
Comprehensive archive of the entire corpus of knowledge on the enteric bacterial cell.
- Health Reference Center
Full-text information at your fingertips from a variety of professional and popular sources.
- International
Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)
Office of Dietary Supplements, NIH
Database of published, international, scientific literature
on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals,
and botanicals
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text resource includes articles from major American
newspapers, regional papers, newsletters, and journals;
country and state profiles; medical and health topics;
federal case law, the U.S. Code, law reviews, and state
legal research.
- MEDLINE
International biomedical journal literature includes over
11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of
medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare
systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
- Access via Ovid
- Access via PubMed (use this link with your Tufts ID for e-journals licensed to
the Tufts community)
Full-text coverage of
Tufts-owned journals is available via the blue Tufts icon
on its Citation and Abstract displays. To
limit to articles available free in PubMed Central, select
it from the Subsets menu under Limits. Other
full-text access is available via some publisher icons.
- National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
USDA
The major source of food composition data in the
U.S. and provides the foundation for most food
composition databases in the public and private sectors.
Contains data on 7,000 food items and up to 130 food components.
The database is downloadable including files
required to search the databases.
- Science
Citation Index
Contains bibliographic information
gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. Can be searched by: subject, author,
journal, author address and/or articles that cite a known
author or work.
Diet & Food
- Food and fitness : A dictionary of diet and exercise
This dictionary enables users to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise.
- Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2005
Joint USDA/HHS
- Dietary
Reference Intakes (DRI) and Recommended Dietary Allowances
(RDA)
Food and Nutrition Information Center, USDA
- Dietary Reference Intake (DRI) Research Synthesis Database
Food and Nutrition Information Center, USDA
Search the research recommendations from the eight Dietary Reference Intake (DRI) reports published between 1997-2005
- EdNet:
National Food Safety Educator's Network (EDNET-L)
Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, FDA
Electronic network for food safety educators intended as a one-way direct mail food safety education update from the FDA, USDA, and CDC.
- Food
Guide Pyramid
Food and Nutrition Information Center, USDA
Booklets, educational tools and graphics of pyramid.
Includes other food pyramids e.g. ethnic, vegetarian,
etc.
- Food Labeling
and Nutrition: Overview
Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, FDA
- Healthy
Eating Index
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, USDA
- Label
Claims
Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition, FDA
- National
Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
National Center for Health Statistics, CDC
Collects information about the health and diet of people
in the U.S.
Also available at the InfoCirc Desk NHANES III Report QU 146 AA1 N576
- National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
USDA
A repository of searchable information for more than 130 nutrients for over 7,000 foods. The data can be accessed online or downloaded for use on your PC or PDA.
Dietary Supplements
- Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act of 1994 summary by FDA
- Dietary
Supplements
Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition, US FDA
Overview, general information and FAQ, regulations,
safety information and more.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (NLM)
- Offers information about label ingredients in more than three thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. Active ingredients lists have links to definitions and canned PubMed searches for topics such as "actions," "clinical trials," "effectiveness," etc. Information is also provided on the "structure/function" claims made by manufacturers.
- Office of Dietary Supplements (NIH)
- ConsumerLab
Comprehensive information about vitamin, herbal and other supplements, and nutritional products for both humans and pets. Includes independent product evaluations, lists of quality-approved brands, product recalls, and safety warnings.
- Herbal Supplements
- Herbal
Medicine
MEDLINEPlus Health Information, NLM/NIH
Links to general information, clinical trials, research
and news
- HerbMed
Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc.
Organized by scientific name, links to list of
bibliography of evidence studies
- Macronutrients, Phytonutrients, Vitamins, and Minerals
National Agricultural Library
Government Resources
Global
U.S.
- Center for Food
Safety and Applied Nutrition
FDA
- Center for Nutrition
Policy and Promotion
USDA
- Congressional
Hunger Center
Non-profit anti-hunger leadership training organization
partnered with select Members of Congress, as well as
several national and international hunger fighting organizations
- Emergency Food
and Shelter National Board Program
Created by Congress to help meet the needs of hungry
and homeless people throughout the US and its territories
by allocating federal funds for the provision of food
and shelter.
- Food
Assistance and Nutrition Programs
Economic Research Service, USDA
Research and policy documents on the 15 food assistance
programs administered by the USDA, including Food Stamps
and WIC.
- Nutrition Assistance
Programs
Food and Nutrition Service, USDA
Nutrition Assistance programs including Food Stamps, WIC,
Child Nutrition, Team Nutrition and Food Distribution.
- Food
and Nutrition Information Center
National Agricultural Library, USDA
Index to a wide range of nutrition resources, including
international and foreign language sites.
- Nutrition Topics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Nutrition Programs Human Nutrition
Agricultural Research Service, USDA
Human nutrition research.
- Nutrition.gov
Government clearinghouse for nutritional information.
- Office of Dietary Supplements
NIH
Other Resources
- Arbor Nutrition Guide
Links to various fields, including food science, agricultural
industry, clinical nutrition, dietary management, and
phytochemistry.
- International Food Information
Council (IFIC)
Science-based information on food safety and nutrition
for health and nutrition professionals, educators, journalists,
government officials and others providing information
to consumers.
News
Photographs - Digital
Library
|
|