|
|
| Home > Research
Guides > PDA
Resources |
| PDAs |
|
|
Tufts Resources
- Epocrates Essentials
TUSM students receive an access code from OSA for downloading its integrated drug, disease, and diagnostic suite. See also the free, Rx-only version listed below.
- Essential Evidence Plus
Download it for PalmOS or PocketPC and search across its database of Problem-Oriented Evidence that Matters (Daily POEMs), abstracts of Cochrane Systematic Reviews, EBM guidelines, decision-support tools and calculators, the 5-Minute Clinical Consult, and ICD-9 codes.
- PocketConsult
Connects handheld devices to MD Consult to receive medical
news, drug updates, and abstracts from hundreds of journals and to initiate searches on MD Consult. Once logged in, Tufts users need to create a personal account in order to access My PDA (on the upper right).
- TUSK
Class schedules can be read on your PDA. See its instructions.
- UpToDate Point-of-care medical resource (available on campus only)
System requirements
General
Information on Personal Digital Assistants
-
-
-
- Sony
Palm OS
-
ZDNet
reviews, price comparisons, etc.
Peripherals
Software
- Handango
large publisher for handhelds
- Tucows
lists shareware and sells software by platform and subject categories.
Resources for Dentistry
Resources for Medicine
- AMSA
Provides good information on buying a handheld, plus recommendations
on software.
- Arizona Medical Education Consortium
Their recommended PDA tools.
- BMJ
Table-of-contents service, plus a list of full-text
articles relating to resources for handhelds in medicine.
- Diagnosaurus
Derived from McGraw-Hill's Current Consult Medicine, it has 1000+ differential diagnoses.
- Epocrates Rx
Continually-updated drug information
including brand and generic drugs; dosing; indications; safety; retail pricing; drug-drug interaction; and health insurance and Medicare Part D formularies. This free version can be augmented by subscription to their various packages.
- EBM Calculator
Calculates statistics for Diagnostic, Prospective and Case Controlled Studies, as well as Randomized Controlled Trials from the University of Toronto.
- Handheldmed
Software for health professionals
- Handhelds in medicine: A practical guide for physicians
5th Floor Stacks W 26.55.C7 S77 2005
- Harrison's
on Hand [subscription required]
Download and sync this medical reference to a PDA. Service is through McGraw-Hill publishers.
- Healthy Palm
Pilot
- Links to Clinical Practice Guidelines for Handheld Computers - From the National Guideline Clearinghouse.
- MDnetguide
Electronic magazine, arranged by speciality, with regular
feature on PDA resources
- Medical Pocket
PC
- NCBI
Bookshelf
Downloadable versions of books from the NCBI Bookshelf
for any mobile device.
- NLM Mobile
Contains links to the National Library of Medicine's projects
that invlove hand-held devices, including: PubMed on Tap,
NCBI BookShelf, and Wireless System for Emergency Responders
(WISER) .
- Palmdoc Chronicles
Medical PDA news and updates.
- PEPID - Portable reference to support clinical decision making.
- pdaMD.com
Includes software reviews, downloads, product links
- PIER
Decision-support tool, is available in PalmOS, Pocket
PC, and wireless versions to members of its producer,
the American College of Physicians, and by subscription
via Stat!Ref (Tufts' subscription does not cover it).
- POCKETconsult
Elsevier's free version includes medical calculators,
Mosby's Drug Consult and news.
- PubMed
on Tap
Retrieves MEDLINE citations directly through a wireless
connection to the Internet. Downloads for the Palm &
PocketPC feature include several PubMed search limits,
a history of previous queries, the ability to save citations
to the Memo Pad, two clustered results options, and link-out
to full-text Websites.
- STAT!Ref
Offers PIER
and reference titles from Skyscape for use on Palm and
Windows CE devices. Tufts' subscription does not include
these resources.
- Tucows
Rates calculators and other software for the Palm
OS, Pocket
PC, et al.
- Unbound
Medicine
Its bookstore offers a free differential-diagnosis tool,
Diagnosaurus; Clinical Evidence at a student
discount; free trials; and reasonably-priced downloads
of Harrison's, Griffith's 5-Minute Consult, and
many other e-texts.
- Wireless System
for Emergency Responders (WISER)
Software for Palm Powered or Pocket PC devices to assist
first responders in hazardous material incidents.
Resources for Nutrition
Academic Sites
|
|