|
|
| Home > Research
Guides > Pharmacology |
| Pharmacology |
|
|
Acronyms/Abbreviations/Symbols
Code of Federal Regulations Title 21 Food
and Drugs
Drug Abuse/Controlled Substances
Drug & Biologics Approvals - FDA
Drug Costs
Drug Development
- Medicines
in Development
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
(PhRMA)
Database searchable by disease, drug name, or company.
Drug Identification - US
- Mosby's
drug consult (STAT!Ref)
Organized alphabetically by generic name
- Drug facts and comparisons
Reference QV 772 D7924
Organized by color and shape. Only commonly prescribed
drugs are listed.
Drug Identification - International
- Index Nominum
Reference QV 740 GS9 I4
Provides synonyms, formulas, and therapeutic classes for drugs and derivatives for 133 countries. Edited by the Swiss Pharmaceutical Society.
- Martindale, The Complete Drug Reference
Reference QV 738 FA1 M3E
Drug Monographs/Drug Information References
- American
hospital formulary service drug information (STAT!Ref)
- Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, it is a comprehensive, authoritative, and unbaised source for drugs available in the United States.
- Organized by a therapeutic and pharmacologic classification system and updated annually.
- Drug monographs include: drug interactions, adverse reactions; cautions and toxicity; therapeutic perspective; specific dosage and administration information; preparations, chemistry, and stability; pharmacology and pharmacokinetics; contraindications; and more.
- Drug facts and comparisons (via ClinicalResource@Ovid) see Rx Drug Information
tab
Unbaised, comprehensive source for U.S. drugs including
nutrients and nutritional agents.
- Mosby's
drug consult (STAT!Ref)
Excellent reference for U.S. prescription (generic and
brand) drugs and foreign drug guide. Monographs include
cost of therapy and drug ID with photos
- USP
drug information for the health care professional
(STAT!Ref)
- Approved
drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations
(Orange Book)
US FDA
Searchable by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant
holder and number. "Lists approved drug products
that are bioequivalent, including new drugs, generic drugs,
and antibiotics... approved nonprescription products"
and information about patents and marketing exclusivity.
- National
drug code directory
Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, US FDA
Searchable database of prescription drugs
and selected OTC products. Information on prescription drugs and insulin products that have been manufactured, prepared, propagated, compounded, or processed by registered establishments for commercial distribution. Entries include the NDC number.
- Package Inserts
Check specific manufacturers' websites for product information
which usually include the complete package insert.
- United States pharmacopeia
Reference QV 738 AA1 P536
Describes and defines approved therapeutic agents, and
sets standards for purity, assay, etc.
Drugs, Non-Prescription
- Handbook of non-prescription drugs
Reference QV 772 H236
Drug Shortages/Discontinuation
Center
for Drug Evaluation & Research, US FDA
Government Offices/Programs
Medicare - Prescription Drug Coverage
Natural Products
-
See Complementary and Alternative Medicine subject guide
-
NAPRALERT
University of Illinois, Chicago College of Pharmacy, Program for Collaborative Research in the Pharmaceutical Sciences
Database of natural products, including ethnomedical information, pharmacological / biochemical information of extracts of organisms in vitro, in situ, in vivo, in humans (case reports, non-clinical trials) and clinical studies. Similar information is available for secondary metabolites from natural sources. There is a fee to retrieve a list of citations and a summary of the relevant information.
News
- FDA RSS feeds
- Pharmafocus.com
Pharmaceutical and healthcare news
- Pharmalicensing.com
Latest pharmaceutical and biotech licensing industry developments.
- RegSource.com
Pharmaceutical company news
- LexisNexis Academic
Includes articles from major national and regional newspapers,
statistical information, and country and state profiles.
Major source for federal case law and statutes, the U.S.
Code, law reviews, and state legal research.
Patient Handouts/Information
Pharmaceutical Companies/Manufacturers/Assocations
Safety/Alerts/Reporting - FDA
Statistical Information
- Top 300
Prescriptions for 2005
Ranking of US drugs by number of prescriptions dispensed. Includes yearly list from 1995-2005.
- IMS
Health
Preeminent for-profit company specializing in the
rigorous collection and analysis of pharmaceutical information.
Although their reports are fee-based, the website includes
free and useful statistics and tables, particularly
for the major therapeutic classes.
- Prescription
drug trends a chartbook, 2001
Kaiser Family Foundation
Information about the trends in prescription drug coverage,
spending, prices, use, and industry structure. Some statistical information.
Dietary Supplements
Tufts
Resources
|
|