Research Guides > Psychiatry
See also: Tufts Psychology E-resources
American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)
Materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary
perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology,
public policy, business, health and health care services,
and consumer issues.
- MEDLINE [Ovid]
National Library of Medicine
International biomedical journal literature includes over
11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of
medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare
systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Same MEDLINE database
as available from PubMed but uses more enhanced software.
Provides evaluative information to promote and encourage informed
test selection. Typical entries include descriptive information,
one or two professional reviews, and reviewer references.
To be reviewed a test must be commercially available, be published
in the English language, and be new, revised, or widely used
since it last appeared in the series.
- PEP Web Archive Online
PEP is a digital archive of many of the major works of psychoanalysis. It includes the complete works of Sigmund Freud, an archive of works from twenty psychoanalytic journals (1920-2003), and complete versions of other, classic psychoanalytic texts.
- PsycINFO [Cambridge Scientific Abstracts]
American Psychological Association
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology
and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing,
sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics,
and other areas.
Abstracts and some full-text of psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. Most records include the actual instrument.
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI)
Provides retrospective access with cited references from articles
covered from 1974 in: Arts & Humanities Index, Science
Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index.
The following journals are currently available online. For additional journals, search the Tufts Catalog (select Journal Title) or Serials Solutions.
| HHSL call number range
& International Agencies
Local and State
- Center for Mental
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Information on mental health services including news, publications, hotlines,
links to state services and statistics.
Institute of Mental Health
Information about the symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of mental illnesses.
Included are brochures and information sheets, reports, press releases, fact
sheets, and other educational materials.
- Centre for Evidence-Based Mental Health (CEBMH)
Part of a national network of Centres for Evidence-Based Health Care based at Oxford University, CEBMH seeks to: (1) Promote the teaching and practice of evidence-based health care (EBHC) throughout the UK (with special emphasis on evidence-based mental health) and internationally; and (2) Develop, evaluate, and disseminate improved methods of using research in practice, and incorporate these in the teaching methods of the CEBMH.
- World Health Organization (WHO) - Mental Health
Provides links to descriptions of activities, reports, news and events, as well as contacts and cooperating partners in the various WHO programmes and offices working on this topic
Academic & Society Sites
Provides links to statistics on mental illness in the United
States by type of disorders as well as the Impact of Mental
Illness on Society report and Epidemiology of Mental Illness report
from the Office of the Surgeon General.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Abuse and Mental Health Statistics
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Includes national statistics on binge drinking, smoking, drug abuse, substance
abuse treatment services, drug related emergency room visits, and special
topics. See also the SAMHSA list of information
clearinghouses and services.