|
|
| Home >
Research Guides > Public Health |
| Public Health |
|
|
|
Tufts Resources
Databases
- AARP
AgeLine
American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)
Materials related to aging and middle age, from an interdisciplinary
perspective of psychology, economics, sociology, gerontology,
public policy, business, health and health care services,
and consumer issues.
- CAB
Abstracts
Literature in agriculture, nutrition, animal health
& natural resources.
- Cambridge
Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Covers a variety of databases, the earliest begining
in 1975. Databases include: ASFA: Aquatic Sciences &
Fisheries; Biological Sciences; Biology Digest; Conference
Papers Index; ERIC; PAIS; Plant Science; Sociological Abstracts;
TOXLINE ; Zoological Record
- EcoSal
Comprehensive archive of the entire corpus of knowledge on the enteric bacterial cell.
- Global
Health
International database providing comprehensive coverage
of the core public health literature, particularly in
the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases,
vector control, food safety and epidemiology.
- Global TB database
World Health Organization
Contains data regarding world-wide TB incidence, prevalence, death and detection rate.
- Health
and Safety Science Abstracts
Comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating
to public health, safety and industrial hygiene.
- HealthSTAR
Literature in health administration, healthcare econcomics,
and technology.
- LILACS (Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature)
LILACS is a cooperative database compiled and edited by BIREME and Pan American Health Organization PAHO) that indexes more than 670 medical journals in Latin America and Caribbean.
- MEDLINE
Biomedical journal literature
- PAIS International
Database of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Abstracts, including those in the Archive, are available from 1915 to the present.
- SCOPUS
An index to the scientific technical and medical literature covering 14,000 scholarly titles including 2,700 titles in Social Science, Psychology, and Economics. Updated daily. Full-text linking is available wherever the technology and the access arrangements permit and continues to expand as such arrangements allow. Integrated web searching and patent searching by Scirus.
- TB (Tuberculosis) Database
Stanford U. School of Medicine/Broad Institute
Contains TB-related gene expression and genome sequences. TB Database is a multi-institutional collaboration makes available the tools and resources available at the Stanford Microarray Database and the Broad Institute.
- Haz-Map
National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health
Occupational health and toxicology database designed
to link jobs and hazardous job-related tasks to exposure,
chemicals, and occupational diseases and their syptoms.
- POPLINE
INFO Project - Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Program
Reproductive health database, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and reproductive health issues.
- TOXMAP
National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health
A Geographic Information System (GIS) that uses maps of the U. S. to help users visually explore data from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
- TOXNET
National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health
Databases include hazardous chemicals (HSDB), genetic
toxicology (GENE-TOX), reproductive toxicology (DART/ETIC), human risk values and cancer classifications (ITER).
- Tox
Town
National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health
Information on everyday locations where you might
find toxic chemicals; links to selected, authoritative
chemical information and non-technical descriptions;
how the environment can impact human health and links
to resources on environmental health topics.
- Web
of Knowledge
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI)
Provides retrospective access with cited references
from articles covered from 1974 in: Arts & Humanities
Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation
Index.
Journals
Our subscriptions are linked from:
-
Ovid
- Limit to Local Holdings to retrieve articles available
at Tufts in print or electronically.
- PubMed
- Accessing PubMed from the HHSL web site provides information about Tufts owned subscriptions and provide access to full-text owned by Tufts.
- TDNet
- Enter title abbreviation,
phrase in the title, or exact title.
- Select the relevant option under Partial Words,
which works for abbreviations. Click Go.
- Tufts Catalog
- Select Journal Title and enter the abbreviation
or the first few words of the title (drop initial
articles).
- If several titles are displayed, click a likely
one. A link that begins Connect to http appears
at the top of records for Tufts' e-journals.
Electronic Journals:
Texts
| HHSL call number range |
WA 100's
WA 500's |
Public Health (General)
-
Communicating public health information effectively:
a guide for practitioners
5th floor WA 100 C735 2002
-
Oxford textbook of public health
-
Public health management of disasters: the practice
guide
5th floor WA 525 L256p 2001
-
Qualitative methods in public health: a field guide
for applied research
5th floor WA 20.5 U39q 2005
-
Sickness and wealth : the corporate assault on global
health
5th floor WA 530.1 S566 2004
-
Terrorism and public health: a balanced approach
to strengthening systems and protecting people
5th floor WA 295 T3277 2003
- Understanding health policy: a clinical approach
Reserve WA 525 B666u 2008
International
United States
-
Dartmouth atlas of health care
-
Delivering health care in America: a systems approach
Reserve W 84 AA1 S512d 2008
-
Healthy
people 2010 : understanding and improving health
-
An introduction to the U.S. health care system
5th floor W 84 AA1 J7i 2007
-
Jonas and Kovner's health care delivery in the United States
Reserve W 84 AA1 J68 2008
-
The nation's health
5th floor WA 100 N284 2003
-
Vital statistics of the United States: births, life expectancy, deaths and selected health data
5th floor WA 203 A22 2008
Our Guides
Other Tufts Sites
Government & International
Agencies
Massachusetts
National
International
Academic, Society and Non-Governmental Sites
Web Guides
- Kaiser Family Foundation
Non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Unlike grant-making foundations, Kaiser develops and runs its own research and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations or major media companies.
- MEASURE DHS (Demographic and Health Surveys)
Funded by U.S. Agency for International Development’s (USAID) Bureau for Global Health (BGH)
Produces a wide variety of publications that provide country specific and comparative data on population, health, and nutrition in developing countries.
- Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
Agency for Healthcare Reseach and Quality
A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
- MEDLINEPlus
National Institutes of Health, National Library of
Medicine
Guide to health information including lists of hospitals
and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries,
health information in Spanish, information on prescription
and over-the-counter drugs, health news, and links to
clinical trials.
- Minority Health
Agency for Healthcare Reseach and Quality
- Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet. Topics include:
- PulseNet
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
PulseNet is a national network of public health and food regulatory agency laboratories coordinated by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
- State
Health Departments
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Allows users to search the health departments of each
state.
- What are Health Disparities?
National Institutes of Health
Six focus areas in which racial and ethnic minorities experience serious disparities in health access and outcomes.
|
|