Tufts University Hirsh Health Sciences Library logo  
banner image
Tufts CatalogDatabasesE-BooksE-JournalsOvid MEDLINEPubMedTUSK
SEARCH THIS SITE
QUICK LINKS
SERVICES
RESOURCES
Getting Started
Catalogs & Libraries
Databases
E-Books
E-Journals
New Acquisitions
Recommend a Purchase
Report a Missing Book or Journal
Research Guides
by Subject
COMPUTING
ABOUT THE LIBRARY
EDUCATION
TUFTS WEBSITES
 
Printer-friendly version
Virtual Reference
in this guide:
Biography
Calculators
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, General
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Scientific
Directories
Maps & Area Information
Quotations
Weather
Tufts-Subscribed Resources
See also

Biography

American National Biography Online
Biographical Directory of the US Congress
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Biography.com
A&E television network's site gives brief biographical information for about 25,000 individuals with cross references to related people.
CREDO Reference
Includes the Macmillian Dictionary of Women's Biography, the Penguin Biographical Dictionary of Women, Who's Who in 2003 et al.
Dictionary of Scientists
Under Science search or browse it for scientists from ancient to modern.
Dictionary of Writers and Their Works
Under Literature search or browse it for British, American & Commonwealth authors.
InfoPlease Biography
Search by name, occupational and ethnic categories over 30,000 brief biographies of historical and contemporary figures.
Lexis Nexis
Search obituaries by region or particular newspapers under U.S. News or General News/ Major Newspapers.
Nobel Prizes & Laureates

Provides comprehensive information about the Nobel Prize including biographical information and Nobel Lectures of Nobel laureates.
Tufts Database Finder: Biography
Whonamedit.com
Biographical dictionary of medical eponyms. It presents a complete survey of all medical phenomena named for a person, with a biography of that person.
Who's Who in the Classical World
Under Classics search or browse for biographies of Greeks and Romans.
Who Was Who, 1897-2005

Calculators

Calculators Online Center
Martindale's directory of online calculators, including scientific, mathematical, financial and practical applications.
How Many?
This dictionary of units of measurement includes miscellaneous scales and tables, from Apgar to wire gauge.
OnlineConversion.com
Convert currency, weights, distance, dates, etc.
Virtual Perpetual Calendars
Provides the calendar for any year in the 19th-21st centuries and includes information about holidays, seasons and the zodiac.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, General

Acronym Finder
Search over 242,000 common acronyms.
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Fourth Edition includes audio pronunciations, illustrations, language notes and word-root appendixes.
Chinese-English Online Dictionary
English-Chinese displays in simplified (GB) and traditional characters (BIG5), which can be loaded as Windows fonts under Regional Options. For Chinese-English translation, Pinyin input is an option for those without keyboard translation software (e.g. products by TwinBridge).
Columbia Encyclopedia
Sixth Edition (2001) has over 50,000 entries.
CREDO Reference
Contains over 160 encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations organized by subject including medicine, science, social sciences, and technology. Its bilingual dictionaries include: French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese and Spanish.
Encyclopaedia Britannica
Free Dictionary by Farlex
English, medical, legal, financial, and computer dictionaries, thesaurus, acronyms, encyclopedia & literary reference tools
Google Language Tools
Translates Webpages and text from French, German, Italian, Portuguese & Spanish into English and vice versa. Several Asian languages are in development.
InfoPlease.com
Provides access to Information Please almanacs, an atlas, a dictionary and the Columbia Encyclopedia.
Latin Dictionary & Grammar Aid
Notre Dame's site translates from English to Latin, searches Latin words by stem, and lists endings for browsing. See also Harper Collins Latin Dictionary at CREDO Reference.
Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary
OneLook Dictionaries
Search with wildcards 350 different dictionaries simultaneously, or specific dictionaries or subject groups.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Oxford Reference Online
Search or browse by broad subject modern-language subject-specific dictionaries & other reference works from Oxford University Press.
Roget's II: The New Thesaurus
Contains 35,000 synonyms and over 250,000 cross-references and hyperlinked category index.
Tufts Database Finder: Dictionaries
Tufts Database Finder: Encyclopedias
Wikipedia
This encyclopedia cum dictionary with articles in many languages grows with contributions of its readers. It can be searched or browsed by subjects such as Health, Medicine and Public Health, which contain links to yet other articles and web encylopedias.
YourDictionary.com
Provides access to more than 1800 dictionaries with more than 250 languages.

Directories

ADA Member Directory
American Dental Association's members may be searched by name, address, state, zipcode & specialty.
AMA Physician Select
American Medical Association's members may be located by name or specialty.
Associations
Contains addresses, publications, websites et al. for approximately 444,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields.
Massachusetts Physician Profiles
Mass. Board of Registration in Medicine's database searches licensed physicians by town and specialty.
MedlinePlus Directories
Find a healthcare provider, hospital, clinic, or other healthcare facility or service.
MedlinePlus Organizations
Links to NIH resources, federal healthcare agencies, and professional societies.
Switchboard
This nationwide residential & business directory includes address & phone numbers, reverse lookup & email addresses for registered users.
Telephone Directories on the Web
Index of online phone books from around the world.
Tufts Database Finder: International Organizations
Tufts Database Finder: Organizations
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Browse Medical Sciences by specialty or search directly for a known journal's publisher, address, subscription information, URL, indexers et al.  Peer-reviewed and electronic journals are indicated by icons.
United States Postal Service
Includes zipcode directory and postal rates.
Verizon Superpages.com
Includes nationwide phone directory, city guides, maps and consumer information.
Who's Certified
American Board of Medical Specialties requires registration for 5 specialists by name or specialty and location. For full details, call ABMS (866-275-2267) or see ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists in HHSL Reference W 22 AA1 O32.

Maps & Area Information

Amtrak
Covers schedules, fares, reservations and other services.
Boston.com
Includes The Boston Globe Online, breaking news, updated stories, weather, traffic, online classified services and other sections.
City of Boston
Gives information for residents, businesses and visitors.
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Portal to state services and information.
Country Reports
Includes current weather, maps, history & information by country.
Fifty States & Capitals

Provides maps and a wide range of information about each state. All facts are linked to authoritative webpages.
Handbook of the World
Under General Reference search it by country for maps, statistics, and current political information.
MapQuest
Locates airports, businesses and street addresses in the US on expandable maps.
Maps on File
Includes over 500 country maps that include major cities, rivers & roads, & recent global demographic, economic, political & environmental statistics.
Massachusetts Bay Transit Authority
MBTA site includes bus, subway, boat & commuter-rail schedules, fares & maps.
Microsoft Expedia Maps
Access any map in the world with a keyword search in one of four categories: place, business, address and driving directions.
World Factbook
Central Intelligence Agency provides for each country maps and information about its geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation and military
World Time Server.com
Find local time of all countries and many major cities.

Quotations

Bartleby.com Great Books Online
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, Simpson's Contemporary Quotations and Columbia World of Quotations may be searched individually or as a collection.
Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections [require Tufts UTLN]
Search 20 different versions of the English Bible, Shakespeare and many poems.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs
Under English Language Reference browse or search for famous sayings.
CREDO Reference
Searches six dictionaries in its Quotations section.
Oxford Dictionary of Twentieth Century Quotations &
Oxford Essential Quotations Dictionary [require Tufts UTLN]
Under Quotations search for quotes on a variety of subjects from a wide range of sources both ancient and modern.
Quoteland
Focuses on contemporary quotes for business use and special occasions.

Weather

Channel 4
CBS gives current conditions and school closings, as well as an expanded forecast.
Channel 5
ABC offers updated weather, air quality, and closing announcements for Tufts and area schools.
Channel 7
WHDH-TV lists school closings including Tufts.
National Weather Service
US government website gives hourly reports, forecasts etc. by state.
UM Weather
University of Michigan's comprehensive source of links to weather data.
Weather Channel
Enter a city for forecasts, weather maps & other information worldwide.

Tufts-Subscribed Resources Cited in Sections Above

American National Biography Online
Includes biographical information on over 17,000 notable Americans from colonial times to the present.
Associations
Contains information for international and U.S. national, regional, state and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Covers contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
Biography Resource Center & Marquis Who's Who
Search InfoTrac file by name, occupation and nationality.
Britannica Online & Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary
Includes Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, Video and Media, Internet Guide, Atlas and Thesaurus.
Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections
Search versions of the English Bible, Shakespeare and many poems.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs
Under English Language Reference browse or search for famous sayings.
CREDO Reference
Contains over 160 encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations organized by subject including medicine, science, social sciences, and technology. Its bilingual dictionaries include:
French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese and Spanish.
Dictionary of Scientists
Under Science search or browse it for scientists from ancient to modern.
Dictionary of Writers and their Works
Under Literature search or browse it for British, American & Commonwealth authors.
Handbook of the World
Under General Reference search it by country for maps, statistics, and current political information.
Lexis Nexis
Search the news by region or particular newspapers under U.S. News or General News/ Major Newspapers. Consult our News guide for other options.
Maps on File
Includes over 500 country maps that include major cities, rivers & roads, & recent global demographic, economic, political & environmental statistics.
Oxford Dictionary of Twentieth Century Quotations & Oxford Essential Quotations Dictionary
Under Quotations search for quotes on a variety of subjects from a wide range of sources both ancient and modern.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition with its Additions Series.
Oxford Reference Online
Search Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias and other
reference works individually or comprehensively.
Tufts Database Finder: Biography | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Reference
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Browse Medical Sciences by specialty or search directly for a known journal's publisher, address, subscription information, URL, indexers et al.  Peer-reviewed and electronic journals are indicated by icons.
Who's Who in the Classical World
Under Classics search or browse for biographies of Greeks and Romans.
Who Was Who, 1897-2005
World Almanac & Book of Facts
Covers arts & entertainment, US cities & states, people in the news, nations, sports, the environment, vital statistics, science & technology, computers, taxes and more.