Databases and Indexes

Scientific Databases

The following is a selective list of scientific databases:

AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA indexes journals, books, book chapters, theses, patents, audiovisual materials, and computer software related to all aspects of agriculture. Covers 1970 to the present.
Altweb
The Alternatives to Animal Testing website, serves as a gateway to alternatives news, information, and resources for laboratory animal testing and experimentation.
Animal Drugs @ FDA
Animal Drugs @ FDA (aka Green Book) is updated by FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine. It includes a list of all animal drug products approved for safety and effectiveness; and information submitted to the FDA by sponsors of approved animal drugs regarding patents held for the animal drug and its method of use. Updated monthly.
BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews is a comprehensive life sciences database, incorporating Biological Abstracts. Source publications include journals, books, conference proceedings, technical reports and patents. Covers 1926 to the present.
CAB Abstracts
CAB Abstracts indexes research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Covers 1973 to the present. CAB Abstract Archives covers 1910–1972.
ConsumerLab
ConsumerLab.com offers comprehensive information about vitamin, herbal and other supplements, and nutritional products for both humans and pets. There are also independent product evaluations, lists of quality-approved brands, product recalls, and safety warnings.
Current Contents Connect
Current Contents Connect is a current awareness database covering over 8,000 of the world's scholarly journals grouped into the following disciplinary areas: Agriculture, Biology and Environmental Sciences; Arts and Humanities; Clinical Medicine; Engineering, Computing and Technology; Life Sciences; Physical, Chemical and Earth Sciences; Social and Behavioral Sciences. Covers the last ten years.
IVIS
The International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS) provides full-text access to books, conference proceedings, consensus statements and guidelines, journals and online courses. IVIS is free to veterinarians, veterinary students, and animal health professionals. A brief registration is required.
NOAH
The Network of Animal Health is for AVMA members and connects you to colleagues, board-certified specialists and a variety of online-interactive veterinary professional resources, such as the Compendium of Veterinary Products, JAVMA Legal Briefs and Zoonosis Updates.
Ovid MEDLINE Plus
Ovid MEDLINE Plus provides access to CAB Abstracts, CINAHL, Evidence-Based Medicine, Global Health, MEDLINE, online journals and more.
PubMed
PubMed provides customized access to MEDLINE and contains journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems and pre-clinical sciences. Links to full-text coverage of Tufts owned electronic journals and PubMed Central is available.
Scopus
Scopus indexes scientific technical and medical literature covering 14,000 scholarly titles. It includes social science, psychology, economics, integrated web searching and patent searching by Scirus. Updated daily.
VIN
The Veterinary Information Network is free to veterinary students, residents and faculty. It includes interactive message boards, a reference center, OSHA Center, continuing education courses, free classifieds and listings in a database used by pet owners.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the ISI citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. The databases are multidisciplinary and include bibliographic information plus an article's cited reference list (bibliography). Updated weekly.
Zoological Record
Zoological Record indexes all aspects of modern animal research. Covers 1864 to the present.

Database Searching Tools

Tufts Database Finder
Tufts Database Finder is a list of internet resources, databases and CD-ROMs to which the Tufts Libraries subscribe.

General Information Databases

ABI/Inform Complete
ABI/Inform Complete includes index and full-text articles from business journals. Covers 1971 to the present.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database, indexing more than 8,500 journals and providing full-text for more than 4,600 journals. Covers 1975 to the present.
CREDOreference
CREDOreference includes 162 online reference resources from numerous publishers which can be searched by individual title, broad subject headings, cross-references, audio and image content. Its research mapper can search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in a visual form.
Expanded Academic ASAP
The Expanded Academic ASAP indexes approximately 1,500 academic periodicals from all disciplines from 1987 to the present, and the last six months of the New York Times. Updated monthly.
Global Books in Print
Global Books in Print is a reference to all books currently in print.
Google Books
Google Books searches the full text of books. Combine Google Books and Tufts Library catalog searches to identify content in the Veterinary Library collection.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly material, linking to library catalogs for books and full text articles which may be available from Tufts-licensed providers or for a fee from publishers. For articles, follow the Get This Item at Tufts link. For books, click on the Library Search link. Off-campus users must set up their Scholar Preferences to include Tufts University in order to have direct access to the libraries' resources. In Library Links, type Tufts and save your preferences.
Lexis/Nexis Academic
Lexis/Nexis Academic includes articles from major American and regional newspapers, statistics, company financial information, country and state profiles and medical information. It is a major source for federal case law and statutes, the US Code, law reviews and state legal research.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a Government portal developed by an interagency working group of scientific and technical information organizations from US government science agencies. It includes selected authoritative science websites, databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings and other published materials. Science.gov is a gateway to 200 million pages of government science information.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a catalog of over 62 million books and other materials in libraries worldwide, in 400 languages. Its materials include: books, manuscripts, websites, maps, computer programs, music, film, journals and more.