Databases

Scientific Databases (selective list):
  • Agricola - access to literature pertaining to agriculture and related fields. AGRICOLA indexes journals, books, book chapters, theses, patents, audiovisual materials, and computer software related to all aspects of agriculture. Covers 1970-present.

  • Altweb - the Alternatives to Animal Testing Web Site, serves as a gateway to alternatives news, information, and resources for laboratory animal testing and experimentation.

  • Animal Drugs @ FDA - (aka Green Book) is updated by FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine. It includes a list of all animal drug products approved for safety and effectiveness; and information submitted to the FDA by sponsors of approved animal drugs regarding patents held for the animal drug and its method of use. Updated monthly.

  • BIOSIS Previews - a comprehensive life sciences database, incorporating Biological Abstracts. Source publications include journals, books, conference proceedings, technical reports and patents. Covers 1926-present.

  • CAB Abstracts - indexes research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Covers 1973-present. CAB Abstract Archives are also available, covering 1910-1972.

  • Community of Science - detailed professional information for nearly 460,000 scientists and scholars worldwide; includes contact information, positions held, publications, patents, funding received, and a first-person narrative describing current research activities and expertise.

  • ConsumerLab Comprehensive information about vitamin, herbal and other supplements, and nutritional products for both humans and pets. Includes ConsumerLab.com's independent product evaluations, lists of quality-approved brands, product recalls, and safety warnings.

  • Current Contents Connect - a current awareness database covering over 8,000 of the world's scholarly journals grouped into the following disciplinary areas: Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Clinical Medicine; Engineering, Computing & Technology; Life Sciences; Physical, Chemical & Earth Sciences; Social & Behavioral Sciences. Covers the current 10 years.

  • Noah - Network of Animal Health; for AVMA members. NOAH connects you to colleagues, board-certified specialists and a variety of online-interactive veterinary professional resources, such as the Compendium of Veterinary Products, JAVMA Legal Briefs and Zoonosis Updates

  • Ovid MEDLINE Plus - provides access to CAB Abstracts, CINAHL, Evidence-Based Medicine, Global Health, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, online journals and more.

  • PubMed - provides customized access to MEDLINE. Contains journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Full-text coverage of Tufts owned electronic journals and PubMed Central is available via the customized LinkOut feature.

  • Scopus - An index to scientific technical and medical literature covering 14,000 scholarly titles. Includes social science, psychology, economics, integrated web searching and patent searching by Scirus. Updated daily.

  • VIN - Veterinary Information Network; free to veterinary students, residents and faculty. VIN includes interactive message boards, a reference center, OSHA Center, continuing education courses, free classifieds and listings in a database used by pet owners.

  • Web of Science - provides access to the ISI citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Updated weekly. The databases are multidisciplinary and include bibliographic information plus an article's cited reference list (bibliography).

  • Zoological Record - indexes all aspects of modern animal research. Covers 1864-present.

Back to the top 

General Information Databases (selective list):
  • ABI/Inform - index and full-text articles from business journals. Covers 1971-present.

  • CREDOreference - 162 online reference resources from numerous publishers; can be searched by individual title, broad subject headings, cross-references, audio and images. Use its "research mapper" to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in a visual form.

  • Database MultiSearch - simultaneously search the Tufts library catalog; numerous full-text, subject-specific databases; and interdisciplinary databases covering dissertations, images, newspaper articles and reference materials. Database MultiSearch can be a useful starting point to get an overview of your subject and orient yourself to some of the databases available. It is not as sophisticated as the search interface of the individual databases.

  • Expanded Academic Index - index to approximately 1,500 academic periodicals from all disciplines, 1987-present. Latest six months of the New York Times. Updated monthly.

  • Global Books in Print - a reference to all books currently in print.

  • Google Scholar - searches the web for scholarly material, linking to library catalogs for books and full text articles (may be available from Tufts-licensed providers or for a fee from publishers). For articles, follow the "Get This Item at Tufts Link." For books, click on the Library Search link. Off-campus users must set up their Scholar Preferences to include Tufts University in order to have direct access to the library’s resources. In Library Links, type Tufts and 'save' your preferences.

  • Lexis/Nexis - includes articles from major American newspapers and regional papers, statistics, company financial information, country and state profiles and medical information. A major source for federal case law and statutes, the U.S. Code, law reviews, and state legal research.

  • Science.gov - Government portal developed by an interagency working group of scientific and technical information organizations from U.S. government science agencies. Includes selected authoritative science web sites, databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. List of agency-selected sites searched by Science.gov.

  • Tufts' Database Finder - a list of internet resources, databases and CD-ROMs to which the Tufts Libraries subscribe.

  • WorldCat - a catalog of over 62 million books and other materials in libraries worldwide, in 400 languages. Materials include: books, manuscripts, websites, maps, computer programs, music, film, journals and more.

Back to the top